Skip to main content
Pioneer PBS nominated for 26 Upper Midwest Emmy® awards
2021 Emmy Awards with Postcards and Prairie Sportsman

Download last year's 2021 group Emmy photo of Postcards and Prairie Sportsman


GRANITE FALLS, Minn — 26 Pioneer PBS stories and talent have been nominated for the Upper Midwest Emmy® awards to be presented at The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Upper Midwest Chapter gala on Saturday, October 15 at the Radisson Blu Mall of America. This is the most regional Emmy nominations for Pioneer PBS local productions in the station’s 56-year history.

A record-setting 16 stories in the running for awards were created by the Pioneer PBS Postcards production team of Dana Conroy, Ben Dempcy and Kristofor Gieske. The selected stories feature interviews with artists, musicians, business owners, historians, naturalists and veterans from Fergus Falls, Granite Falls, Lake Wilson, Grand Forks, Luverne, Wheaton and other communities in the extensive Pioneer PBS viewing area. Artists Doug Woolverton, Fern Cloud, Pieper Bloomquist, Nancy Valentine, Kandace Creel Falcón, farmer Kyle Vos and author Joseph Tachovsky are among those featured in the nominated stories.

Also nominated were another record-setting nine stories created by the Pioneer PBSPrairie Sportsman production team of Cindy Dorn, Bret Amundson and Dylan Curfman. Nominated stories feature restoration of native freshwater mussels and wood turtles in southeast Minnesota, the Raptor Center in St. Paul, the Legacy of the Lakes Museum in Alexandria, wild food forager Nicole Zempel of Granite Falls, artist Ken Schmitz of Big Bend and a disabled army sergeant being presented with a custom-made rod and reel and other stories. 

Bret Amundson was nominated in the “Host/Moderator” category for his talent hosting Prairie Sportsman, which airs on Minnesota, Wisconsin, South Dakota, North Dakota, Iowa, Wyoming and Illinois PBS stations.

All of the nominated stories can be viewed online at:

About Pioneer PBS

Pioneer PBS is an award-winning, viewer supported television station serving western Minnesota, the eastern Dakotas and northwestern Iowa. For more information, visit or call 1-800-726-3178.